trusted formHow to Delete Your Instagram Account: Deactivation vs Deletion | Several.com
List of Content

How to Delete Your Instagram Account: Deactivation vs Deletion

How to Delete Your Instagram Account: Deactivation vs DeletionHow to Delete Your Instagram Account: Deactivation vs Deletion

Having an Instagram account can be beneficial, fun, and essential, but also time-consuming and emotionally draining (or anxiety-inducing, if you will). So on that same repetitive familiar tune, many have asked, how can I delete my Instagram account? Does a deactivation render it obsolete? We’ve got all the answers for you, so keep reading, you’ll be right in the mix in no time.
 

Can I Delete or Deactivate My Account Using the Instagram App?

Unfortunately, this convenient aspect or function hasn’t been made available since the app’s initial release back on October 6, 2010. Either process can only be followed through using a desktop/computer or your phone’s browser.

Deactivation vs deletion

The main difference between deleting and deactivating your Instagram account is that deactivating your account is temporary and deleting is permanent.

Is deactivation your go-to choice?

You know what they say, to each their own!

So read below the possible scenarios that could help make up your mind.

Deactivate your account if…

  • You want to take a break from social media
  • You want to do some self-reflection and prefer not to have any distractions
  • You have an upcoming important task, project, or deadline that needs to be fulfilled, finished, or met (School, Work, Family...etc)
  •  You have turned your account into a virtual diary and you don’t want to lose your timeline of memories
  • You have some valuable content in there that would be a shame to lose.
  • You’re just taking a short break.

Is deletion your go-to choice?

Once again, read below the possible scenarios that could help make up your mind.

Delete your account if…

  • You want to completely start over, be it with a new account, identity, project or you’re simply in need of a fresh start
  • You don’t want to completely lose all your media and contacts (photos, videos, likes, and comments)
  • You want to completely leave the app behind
  • You have bigger fish to fry.
     

How to Delete Your Account

  1. Log in to your account on instagram.com from your computer or phone browser.
  2. Go to the Delete Your Account page (https://instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/).
  3. Choose an answer from the drop-down menu next to "Why do you want to delete (your account name)?"
  4. Re-enter your password.
  5. Click "Permanently delete my account.
     

 

Note!
Keep in mind that once you delete your account, this action can't be undone. All your media and data, followers, likes, and comments, will be permanently removed, and signing up using the same username won’t be possible.


How to Deactivate Your Instagram Account

  1. Log in to your account on instagram.com from your computer or phone browser.
  2. Click on your profile icon in the upper right-hand corner to access your account.
  3. Click "Settings".
  4. Click on "Edit Profile".
  5. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click "Temporarily disable my account".
  6. Choose an answer from the drop-down menu "Why are you disabling your account?"
  7. Re-enter your password.
  8. Once you've entered your password, a "Temporarily Disable Account" button will appear. Click it and your account will be deactivated.
     

 

Note!

  • Deactivation may take a few hours to take effect.
  • To reactivate your account in the future, simply log back into the Instagram app with your username and password.


Conclusion

To sum it all up, both deleting or deactivating your account are valid options, so if you have any trouble deciding or if you’re in doubt, you can always refer back to this blog and get a fast read-through.

In other words, the ball is in your court.

Related Topics